shredded cheese smells like beer

The first sign is a decaying rind. We bought 3 packages and my husband and I both agreed that they tasted and smelled funny. Also, remember that some shredded cheeses have a relatively long usable life when stored in the refrigerator. 5 Signs That Shredded Cheese Might Be Spoiled. It could be so tempting to disregard the moldy parts of the shredded cheese and use the good stuff, but even the good stuff can contain the bacteria that causes mold. You can tell your shredded cheese is bad if theres visible mold inside the bag or if once you open the bag, you notice a sour or off odor emitting from it. The great thing about pre-shredded cheese is that it is often made using two or three different varieties of cheese, giving a tasty depth of flavor and great consistency. How to Tell if Mozzarella Is Bad | LEAFtv Hey, I'm Jaron and I'm a self-proclaimed food expert and author of this website! However, these two terms are often used interchangeably, and what one person thinks of as shredded cheese might not be the same as the next person! If you are unsure if you are still at risk of contracting a food-borne illness, it is best to discard the cheese. The reason why cheeses are stinky are all the differe. Its one of the most popular types of cheese that people buy because its affordable and you dont have to waste time shredding it. Shredded cheese should smell just the same as the block of cheese it has grated from. Actual daily values may vary depending on your specific dietary needs. Turn off burner. Because there is a more extensive surface area for germs and air to be exposed, sliced or shredded cheese will mold or expire faster. The good news is that most hard cheeses will last six weeks longer than the listed expiration date, according to Savage. a strong "pee-like . The Mayo Clinic does say its okay to cut the mold off cheeses that are hard or semi-soft like Cheddar, Colby and Parmesan, but not shredded cheese. The cheese develops in